Reviews

Dates are in YYYY-MM-DD due to international customers.

Note: Over the years some of our customers gave us multiple reviews/testimonials to update us about their Barnacle Rid performance, which means you may see reviews from the same person more than once.

Name: James R.

Date: 2019-03-30

Location: Puget Sound, WA, United States

I got my replacement parts (4 copper electrodes) today via FedEx.

The system works way better than expected. Here we are a year later… The infestation of mussels (Pacific blue mussels) is gone and hasn’t returned! My first trip out on the Puget Sound after the boat sat in it’s slip all winter… amazingly clean bottom. I could tell immediately by the engine rpms and the gps speed indicator.

She works a charm. I even have slip mates (that understand what the barnacle rid system does) thanking me for keeping their boats clean, too.

Sincerely, James

Name: Craig Thomas

Date: 2018-11-22

Location: Moreton Bay Boat Club

My name is Craig Thomas and I am the owner of an aluminium sail boat.

Rooger is a Radford 10.6 design. A 34 foot racer cruiser.

One of the few drawbacks of aluminium boats is that the antifouling paints cannot have any copper in them. (This is to prevent galvanic corrosion in the hull.) Making the paints less effective than what can be applied to Wooden or GRP boats.

I decided to give the Barnacle Rid system a go to see if it keep my boat free of barnacles.

The 4 electrode Marina system was installed and switched on in June of 2017.

My boat is moored at the Moreton Bay Boat Club. This is in the Northern part of Moreton Bay, Scarborough Boat Harbour.

On 13th of November 2018 I dived under my boat to inspect the anodes and of course see how the Barnacle rid system was performing.

I am pleased to report that there were no barnacles growing on my hull.

Kind regards

Craig.

Craig Thomas, aluminium 34 ft

Name: Rob F.

Date: 2018-09-19

Location: Bonnells Bay, NSW

I brought Barnacle Rid several years ago after I just paid over $2000 to have my Farrier F9 a Trimaran antifouled. I wasn’t sure if it would work. It was vandalised once with someone cutting one of the leads.

I left in the water for over 4 years without barnacle problems. It was breeze to go out sailing  without the drag of barnacles. The only problem was having to quickly scrape off seaweed on the water line the odd occasion.

Name: George K.

Date: 2018-08-25

Location: Sydney Harbour

Find photos of my boat with the Barnacle Rid system in place now for 3 years.

Haven’t had much time spare to use the boat in the past 6 months, no Barnacle growth under the waterline, system working great.

Thanks again

Name: Grant Shorland

Date: 2018-07-19

Location: North Queensland

We left our permanent Berth on the Whitsunday and cruised down to Southport to have some maintenance done. After 18 months I again was not surprised to see how clean the hull and props were, about 3 barnacles on each prop which just brushed off and none anywhere else on the hull.

After having Barnaclerid on our steel 64 foot cruiser now for over 6 years I expected nothing less. Grant.

Barnaclerid used for over 6 years on this boat

Name: Tony D.

Date: 2018-07-19

Location: North Queensland

Just happy to let you know that after 12months installed on my 30ft riviera with the 4 electrode system. Today I went under the boat and there is minimal growth/shells around the shaft support and trim tabs. Otherwise the system works very well. Thank you.

Name: Keith & Susan Castorina

Date: 2018-07-11

Location: North Queensland

We have been using Barnaclerid for two years on our 35 foot Riviera and are happy with its performance. The boat was slipped after one year to repair a prop, there were no Barnacles on the hull and only a few on the shafts and props and we live in a notorious area in North Queensland for Barnacles. Our boat is moored in a tidal river and is subject to some fast flowing currents 8 to 12 days a month I think Barnaclerid will work even better in marinas without the fast currents. We will continue using Barnaclerid.

Keith & Susan Castorina.

Name: Holly M

Date: 2017-08-21

Location: Key Colony Beach, Cheasapeake Bay, South Florida

Just thought I’d take a moment to thank you for selling a product that actually does what it is supposed to. My 42’ Cruisers Esprit has been in the very warm waters of South Florida since September of last year when I took it out of Dry Dock.. Along with a lot of TLC at the dry dock, it also got a brand new bottom paint in anticipation of using your product. I’ve had your system on it since then till now, a full 6 months. Have a look at the photos for yourself…pretty impressive Sir.

Cheers, Holly

Name: Blake H

Date: 2016-08-01

Location: Dubai

Has been about 6 weeks in. Here in Dubai we get barnacles growth in one week. you can get 8mm in about 10 days I have seen 10mm in summer. The hull and running gear is perfectly clean still not one barnacle or worm growth. Will inspect on a monthly and see how it’s going but clearly already it is a great result. Blake from Boaters maintenance facility Dubai

Name: Les Parry

Date: 2016-02-23

Location: Bribie Island, Queensland

I have been using Barnaclerid now in total 3 years and 7 months (43 months, see my previous feedback below from about 24 months ago). The third time I have sent a diver down to check it out, the diver reported I have the cleanest hull in the Marina.

That’s a saving of three lifts and no need for re antifouling three times.

I am very happy saving many $$$.

Thanks Barnaclerid

Name: Graham G

Date: 2016-02-12

Location: Sydney, Australia

I had a 35 foot cruiser that I had moored in a marina at Bayview in Sydney for a bit over 2 years and due to the water temp and limited water movement I found that I was continually having to dive to scrub the hull as the growth became quicker and quicker after each scrub. I then moved up to a 45 foot cruiser in the same location and not wanting to be continually under the boat scrubbing, I began the search for a solution. I discovered Barnaclerid and bought the 4 electrode model (as per your recommendation) which has now been on the boat for approx. 2 and a half years. I was sceptical at first as I initially purchased the system 3 months after an antifoul and, not wanting to slip the boat again so soon, I put the system on (contrary to instructions) and expected it to work. I ended up with growth starting after a couple of months so I bit the bullet and slipped the boat and antifouled. Clearly following the instructions works as during my subsequent 3 monthly dives under the boat there is only some slime with a small amount of weed on the waterline. There has been minor growth on boarding platform supports which is easily scraped off and a very small amount on rudder and prop. No barnacles anywhere. I have no doubt that I have saved substantially on fuel and general running costs. In terms of the product living up to what it says it will do – it certainly does. In addition, Shane’s service and advice has been exceptional. From my experience I thoroughly recommend the Barnaclerid system – but you must follow the instructions.

Name: Grant shorland

Date: 2015-12-09

Location: Airlie Beach, North Queensland

Using Barnaclerid over 5 years on a 64 foot steel cruiser. I dived on the boat yesterday and to my expectation once again the boat was completely free of barnacles. There were a couple on the water line which I used a plastic scraper on and they came off easily. The boat has been here for over 2 years . The boat next door to me has only been here for 4 months and is covered in barnacles and heavy growth so fantastic and thanks.

Name: Gary

Date: 2015-05-02

Location: Lake Macquarie, Australia

just letting you know that I have been using barnaclerid for the past 12months and I think that the product is brilliant thanks

Name: Guy

Date: 2015-04-25

Location: Lake Macquarie, Australia

I HAVE A RANGER 40 CRUISER. THE BOAT IS KEPT ON LAKE MACQUARIE, NEW SOUTH WALES AUSTRALIA, THE WATER TEMP GETS VERY WARM UP TO 30 DEGREES THROUGH SUMMER. I HAVE THE 4 ELECTRODE SYSTEM SO FAR THE SYSTEM HAS BEEN ON FOR 15 MONTHS AND THE HULL IS EXTREMELY CLEAN FOR THIS AMOUNT OF TIME. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS SYSTEM TO ANY ONE THAT HAS A MOORED BOAT

Name: Alan Munkhouse

Date: 2014-11-08

Location: Magnetic Island

After many years of good service I have to replace the electrodes on our 60 ft steel motor cruiser. It has a lot of underwater surface as its depth is 2.8 meters and weighs in at 70 tonnes. The boat lives at Magnetic Island and is coming up to 3 years since its last lift. We haven’t lost any performance. I recommend the system to others in the marina and i know of at least one owner has taken on the system with excellent results. The system really works,

reg Alan M

Name: Brian M

Date: 2014-09-17

Location: Sydney

We fitted a 4 probe Barnaclerid system to our catamaran after antifouling last September. So far so good. A recent dive reported no barnacles. We recently had an operational problem with our unit. It turned out to be operator error and nothing to do with the system. However on first contact Shane assumed the unit had failed even though he must have suspected it was our fault and booked a courier to deliver a replacement control box the next day. After numerous phone calls the cause of the problem was traced to our error. All through the time Shane was very courteous and quick to respond to messages. He never once made me feel stupid (even though I might be) and always treated me as an important customer. Full marks for customer service and after 6 months full marks for the system.
Our boat lives in Pittwater in Sydney.

Name: Andrew. Murray H. Brian A.

Date: cat 2014-05-14, 58 blue cruiser 2012-09-21, 53 Rivera 2012-09-28

Location: Darwin

Very impressed with barnaclerids protection in these very warm waters in the top end Darwin as are my two neighbours who also use Barnaclerid either side of my catamaran. It is working so well I decided to have a pro photographer take this photo of all three of our boats for you. thanks so much regards Andrew

Name: Bob Rafter

Date: 2014-08-02

Location: Hervey Bay

In an effort to battle the never ending maintenance problems associated banacle growth on my Ocean 56′ motor yacht I did some research and found the Banaclerid System. At first I wasn’t totally convinced the system could deliver the results I was looking for, but after discussions and advice from Barnaclerid  CEO Shane Gillard I made the decision to purchase and install a 4 electrode system in June 2011. In January 2012 I went from sceptic to convert after an underwater inspection revealed absolutely no barnacle growth on the hull or running gear.

There was a minor amount of growth on my boarding platform supports and exhaust tubes, which came as no suprise as both of these areas were identified as difficult areas to cover when the installation was initially designed by Shane Gillard. Shane has been a pleasure to deal with and it’s also nice to do business with someone who tells you how it is and not try to spin a lot of crapp in an effort to sell their product. I believe the Banaclerid system has been a good investment which will save me time and money in running and maintenance costs.

Bob Rafter – Hervey Bay QLD

Bob – Hervey Bay QLD

Update Latest news July 2015

It's been 22 months since my last anti foul with no bottom clean since. Apart from some slime and weed, there was absolutely no shell or barnacle growth to be found.The benefits have beenin saving costly maintenance and poor performance so saving fuel as well.Thanks to Barnaclerid.Regards Bob

Name: Olivia Branson

Date: 2014-04-02

Location: Singapore

We have been using the Barnacle Rid system on our dock where we keep our CABO 52 in Singapore (See Pic below) and are very pleased with the results. We have been using it for two years now and do not have issues with barnacles any more. We still have to contend with green weed growth at the water line however do not have to clean off barnacles which was a once a week affair due to rapid and immense growth in our waters. The key to using this successfully is to follow the instructions carefully for installation and boat preparation as well.

Name: Les Parry

Date: 2014-02-21

Location: Bribie Island, Queensland

Now that I have had the Barnaclerid fitted for some 19 months, I thought you might be interested in its performance. The boat is moored in Southern Queensland in an area well known for its barnacle problems. A local diver has cleaned the bottom twice and on his recommendation the boat has not been lifted out, thus saving me two lifts and antifouls. After the last inspection, the diver stated he was a little disappointed as this time he found seven soft barnacles and the time before, only five. Needless to say I am delighted with the performance of the Barnaclerid.

Name: Barry C

Date: 2013-06-20

Location: River Heads, QLD

I’ve had the 4 electrode Barnacle Rid system on our 40ft x 15ft power catamaran since it was launched 18 months ago. After owning a houseboat for many years and dreading the annual barnacle scrape on the slipway I was told about your product by a very satisfied Barnacle Rid user and decided to install the system on our new catamaran. Well after 12 months on a swing mooring in some pretty harsh conditions (1 mtr high waves, 5 knot running tides) there were almost no barnacles on hulls just a few on both bows due to electrodes being out of water in waves and they basically fell off anyway. A couple of months ago both bow electrodes became tangled with the mooring ropes and were pulled from boat so the Barnacle Rid system wasn’t working. Well proof the system works, after 6 weeks of no protection top speed of 21 knots down to 10 knots and I spent 4 hours on a sand bar scraping off stuck barnacles. Thanks Barnaclerid staff for your swift service in sending me 2 new electrodes and ongoing advice. I wont be without them again.

Name: Darren Clarke

Date: 2013-05-04

Location: Perth, Australia

We have had your Barnacle Rid System installed on our boat for the past eighteen months. My boat is 24 years old and has leg drives. Prior to having the Barnacle Rid System installed the hull and legs would be subject to numerous barnacles after only a short period of time after anti-fouling. We primarily wanted to stop the barnacles from entering our water intakes and over heating our engines which we have recently replaced with new ones. I work away from Perth for extended periods of time and I’m not home regularly enough to clean the hull and legs. My Dad heard of your system, so we thought we would give it a try. After getting the correct settings with prompt return phone calls from yourself and your agent in Perth we are very pleased with the results we have been getting. We have just had the boat out of the water for annual servicing of the legs and were very pleased to find no barnacles on the hull at all and none in the water intakes of the legs. Not only does your system reduce the number of times I need to get in the water to rub down the hull and legs but it reduces the time I need to spend in the water because I don’t need to scrap away barnacles. The boats on either side of our pen are also seem to be developing less barnacles as well. We have had many fellow boaties at the marina asking what the probes are hanging off the bow and stern of our boat, to which we are more than happy to explain what it is and show them the good results that we are having with Barnacle Rid.

Name: Matthew Chang

Date: 2012-12-02

Location: Papua New Guinea

I wanted to send a word of praise for your Barnaclerid products. Prior to purchasing the 3 electrode unit, I was highly sceptical off their effectiveness to control the dreaded barnacle growth on the hull of my boat. After purchasing the unit and re antifouling my boat, I was amazed at the reduction in growth. No hard barnacles even after over a year in the water whilst using Barnaclerid. My fuel burn is down, maintenance is down and we could not be happier. At our last annual maintenance and repaint. It was simply a matter of washing down the hull, no scraping required. In fact I am so impressed I would happily recommend the use of Barnaclerid to any boater who moors their boat. Again congratulations on the product and thank you for all your ongoing assistance.

Name: Graeme and Sue G.

Date: 2012-11-30

Location: Tin Can Bay Marina

Barniclerid is a great product. We are very happy with the results using them now for about 6 years. We have only been pulled out twice during this time for anti fouling and both times we (as were the people doing the clean) were amazed at how free of barnacles there were. We are a high speed catamaran and clean hulls are essential for fuel economy. We can’t recommend this product enough. Thanks Shane, regards Graeme and Sue …Tin Can Bay Marina.

Name: Tim Dawson

Date: 2012-29-10

Location: North Queensland

Leopard Power Catamaran after over 12 months since last out of water,Tim Ds. Power Cat berthed in Tin Can bay Queensland, Australia was slipped last week and Tim reporting he was extremely happy with barnaclerids 4 electrode,cat models protection,saying he wasn’t expecting it to be so clean,it was spotless no Barnacles anywhere. Tim said considering the boat has been sitting in the Marina for 6 months it was more impressive.See photos below the Cat has not been cleaned in any way, straight out of the water. spotless no Barnacles anywhere.

Name: Barry Guy

Date: 2012-10-12

Location: Fremantle, Western Australia

Here are the photos of my boat being pulled out at Royal Perth after 14 months in the water. The boat is clean apart from the residue on the ground of slime and a little weed which would have filled 1-2 20 litre Buckets. I am extremely pleased with this outcome.

Name: Brian A.

Date: 2012-09-28

Location: Darwin

FYI did not need to put the new electrodes purchased into action yet as still enough on the old ones. Also we pulled the boat out after 2 years plus sitting in water with over a year of not moving.The Hull was clean and only slight build up on props and rudders but overall good result given no movement. Thanks and regards

Name: John Lu

Date: 2012-04-20

Location: waters NSW

Marina model proves its worth, after over 12 months one lone barnacle was found over the total hull of this customers Riviera moored outside his home marina. Photos of props last shot below, straight out of water no cleaning and no more anti foul required, I give full credit to Barnaclerid was the clients comment, we were as happy also, thanks for the feed back John. Now over 2 years plus no barnacles see set up on Johns Marina below

 

Name: Vern T.

Date: 2012-03-02

Location: Adelaide

I purchased the Kingfisher 50 from the Gold Coast 2 years ago and motored it to Adelaide. An initial inspection on purchase showed an estimated 50% of antifouling life left. I put the barnacle Rid Anode System on the boat just after we arrived in Adelaide and then used it for 2 years before slipping the boat. As you can see from the photo, there was very little growth at all on the vessel (approx a 2 litre bucket of growth around the rudder and on the bottom of the skeg where the anti fouling was missing). I am extremely happy with the results as the system keeps control over the growth which leads to a better fuel consumption as an additional benefit.

Name: Malcolm Therpe

Date: 2012-03-01

Location: Adelaide

I have a 12m catamaran that had not been slipped for four years. I used to jump over the side and give the bottom a clean every few months as I was getting the boat ready to be slipped for a complete external refurbishment. It got to the stage that after 1 month it was pretty bad as there was little to no anti fouling left. A friend had seen a copper anode system on another boat, so I investigated on the web and found the Barnacle Rid System. I scrubbed the bottom and put on the catamaran version of the system in March 2011 (one anode on the bow and stern of each hull). This immediately stopped all the fungi and coral growth. Then I eventually slipped the catamaran in December 2011 after no usage since March, there was only a small amount of weed growing and it was easy to rub off. In November of 2012. I inflated the dinghy and polished the external hull in the water. This was done a bit at a time in just over 3 weeks. During this time I kept the dinghy in the water between the 2 hulls (see photos) and after 3 weeks it was pretty clean. While no system is a silver bullet, the barnacle rid system certainly stops the coral growth and really slows down the weed/fungi growth. If any weed/fungi grows I found it very weak and easy to just brush off.

 

 

Catamaran using barnaclerid for over 5 years also keeps his tender in the protection zone

 

Name: Rick

Date: 2012-02-10

Location: Darwin, NT

Barnacle Rid has exceeded my expectations. Having a boat permanently moored in our warm waters in the Top End I experienced significant barnacle & algae growth on the hull of my 28ft Sea Ray each year. After fitting Barnacle Rid & slipping my boat for some engine & leg maintenance some 18 months later, I and the marine mechanic were amazed at how clean the hull was. Definitely a great investment”. Recommend this product to everyone that has a boat permanently in the water.

Name: Grant Shorland

Date: 2011-09-07

Location: Cullen Bay, Darwin

My boat which is a 65 foot steel passage maker (photographed below) has been moored in Cullen Bay Darwin for the past 14 Months, and it has been 18 Months since the boat was out of the water back in Bundaberg after already usingBarnaclerid for 12 months we found no barnacles, she was out of water for general servicing and we had her re anti fouled whilst out for our trip. We then cruised the East coast Australia to the Kimberly’s in Western Australia and then back to Darwin using Barnaclerid at anchorage. During the last 14 Months in Darwin ‘Northern Territory Australia’ the water temperature ranged between 25degrees c, to a high of 33 degrees C, and the Barnaclerid electrodes have been in the water during this time. I had a dive under the boat a few weeks ago, and found the hull completely clear of barnacles, and also the propellers and stern gear without any sign of barnacles which was very impressive. The hull had some slime around the waterline, but this comes off very quickly once the vessel gets under way at 8 knots it is all gone within a few minutes. I would also like to thank you for all your back up service and free advice since I have purchased the Barnaclerid system from your company it has been terrific over the past 2 years or so. I believe your product is a great invention, and it will allow me to haul the boat out of the water every two years or even longer, which is a great saving when you have a boat which displaces 80 tons. Best Regards

Name: Janis Kinnie

Date: 2011-08-21

Location: Victoria

This tradewinds 42 (see two photos below) straight out of the water no blast after over 19 months since last antifoul, no barnacles on the hull whatsoever, a few on the bottom bow and prop, considering this boat hardly ever moves and is on its wharf for months at a time its a great result